Happy New Year: Happy Reading

Happy new year folks! Hope everyone had a happy, healthy holiday season filled with friends, family, and above all—quality reading time! I got sucked into Gilead by Marilynne Robinson and so did not read my intended curl-up-on-the-coach-with-cocoa read of the week, Inheritance by Paolini but on a lesbian-ish note I did see the American movie version of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and all I can say is: see it.

Rooney Mara rocks, dragon tattoos are hot, and dagger tattoos may just even be hotter. Watch that intense little scene with Lisbeth’s female lover and you’ll see what I mean. Imagination is a beautiful thing but here’s my vote for an expanded version.

A few blog-related resolutions:

  1. Post every Thursday. I am recommitting!
  2. Inspired by the post on autostraddle.com, I will read 2 gay classics that have been gathering dust on my shelf for years

Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth Century America by Lillian Faderman (Penguin 1992)

So, we’re in the next century. Sometimes you have to look back to look ahead.

And the Band Played On By Randy Shilts (St. Martin’s Griffin, 1987)

3. Clear out one whole shelf of books from my apartment and donate them to Housing Works.  This may actually take all year as I brought in about 40 books last week and that still hasn’t seemed to make enough of a dent. But I press on!

 

My motivation will be to make room for some new books coming this year like Alison Bechdel’s Are You My Mother? A Comic Drama coming in May (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).

Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Fiction, Nonfiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

