Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit: Lesbian Coming of Age Memoirs and Novels

I like coming of age stories—fiction or nonfiction. They seem to be the order of the day lately and recently I’ve read:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily Danforth. Among other things it made me want to visit Montana.

Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson. Such a vivid evocation of the people and places–the long stretchy street–of her youth. And while reading, I thought, hmmm, the religious aspect unfolds a bit like Miseducation of Cameron Post. Will have to discuss with book club further.

And I am very much looking forward to reading the non-fiction account of the above novelized version of her early years Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?

Here are some of my other favorites. Let me know what I’m missing out on!

Name All the Animals by Alison Smith. Love, death, and desire–the trifecta of a coming-of-age book.

Fun Home by Alison Bechdel. If the writing itself doesn’t thoroughly compel you, the art will.

and of course her next book, Are You My Mother? is coming out soon in May.

Aquamarine by Carol Anshaw. One of the first lesbian books I ever read, it still haunts me with the road not taken.

Stone Butch Blues  by Leslie Feinberg. Bold, raw, sad, triumphant. It’s a classic for a reason.

Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden. This is one I really wish I had read when I was a pre-teen.

And on the boy side, one of my absolute favorite, favorite books:

At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill. A lyric heartbreaker set in Ireland during the Easter uprising.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit: Lesbian Coming of Age Memoirs and Novels

  1. Kim says:

    How about Becoming A Man by Paul Monette?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Link Round Up « The Lesbrary

  3. Suzanne Stroh says:

    I think At Swim is a total masterpiece. Thanks for reminding people to put it on their lists.

Leave a Reply

