I Can’t Think Straight: End of Summer Lesbian Reads

Thanks to everyone for sharing their experiences with e-readers and tablets. I decided to dive into the deep end and bought the most basic Kindle. It arrived about a week ago and so far I have read one novel on it (The Scottish Prisoner by Gabaldon) but have bought 10 which does not bode well for my bank account but woo hoo for one-click ease of purchase. A mixed blessing, yes, but do I like the instant gratification.

And, I actually like reading on it a lot more than I thought I would. It doesn’t hurt my eyes and it doesn’t feel like work. It is early days but I do feel like a little kid with a new toy.

We had a great book club meeting this week and while we did talk about The Young In One Another’s Arms by Jane Rule (I respect it and and Jane Rule am glad I read it but it failed my “I want to pass this to a friend now test”)  we talked a lot more about books we are currently reading or would suggest as summer wanes. A selection of those below, including Scorpion: Sting by June Sadler who was kind enough to bring it to my attention. Check out the website for the book, complete with an excerpt and audio as well as her blog.

Happy reading!

Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward, Professor, Tattoo Artist, and Sexual Renegade By Justin Spring: this one has been on my list for awhile.

Santa Olivia By Jacqueline Carey: werewolves!

Black by Gaslight By Nene Adams: two women + romance + Jack the Ripper = next on my list.

Ship Breaker By Paolo Bacigalupi: “A gritty, high-stakes adventure set in a futuristic world where oil is scarce, but loyalty is scarcer.”

I Can’t Think Straight By Shamim Sarif: Tala, a London-based Palestinian, is preparing for her elaborate Middle Eastern wedding when she meets Leyla, a young British Indian woman who is dating her best friend. Also a pretty good movie.

The Dark Wife By Sarah Diemer: A lesbian re-telling of the Perspehone myth. Awesome. And one I have loaded on to my Kindle already….

This entry was posted in Fiction, Nonfiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Can’t Think Straight: End of Summer Lesbian Reads

  1. SeattleRobin says:

    I tried to comment yesterday but was having problems with WordPress, hope this doesn’t duplicate anything.

    I just wanted to point out that Santa Olivia is not about werewolves. It’s a dystopian future novel with a sort of Zorro-like main character. It’s one of my favorite books read this year and I recommend it, but figured I should mention this so people aren’t confused. 🙂

  2. Suzanne Stroh says:

    Gabaldon is so talented…our du Maurier? How did you like it?

    • Loved it. I’ve really enjoyed the Lord John series as it combines good historical fiction with a complex, believable character. And I really do find the friendship with Jamie poignant with their dialogue some the the best in the books. I’ve read the first three books in the Outlander series and I’m not sure I’ll finish the rest. It got to be a bit too much if you know what I mean…

  3. Pingback: The Lesbrary

Leave a Reply

